Site Search

text size
Grouped pubs nav
Whitakers 2016 cover
There are two established (ie state) churches in the UK; the Church of England and the Church of Scotland.
Print publication date: Jan, 2019
Word count: 21,589
The Church of England is divided into the two provinces of Canterbury and York, each under an archbishop.
Word count: 7,372
The Anglican Church was the established church in Wales from the 16th century until 1920, when the estrangement of the majority of Welsh people from...
Word count: 755
The Anglican Church was the established church in Ireland from the 16th century but never secured the allegiance of the majority and was...
Word count: 434
A list of primates of the worldwide Anglican Communion, extra-provincial dioceses and moderation of churches in full communion.
Word count: 469
The Church of Scotland is the national church of Scotland. The church is reformed in doctrine, and presbyterian in constitution; ie based on a...
Word count: 532
The Roman Catholic Church is a worldwide Christian church acknowledging as its head the Bishop of Rome, known as the Pope (father).
Word count: 3,717
Word count: 6,988
Word count: 1,236