Site Search

text size
Search in section
Grouped pubs nav
Commonwealth War Graves Commission
2 Marlow Road, Maidenhead, Berks SL6 7DX
T 01628-634221 E W
The Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC) was founded by royal charter in 1917. It is responsible for the commemoration of around 1.7 million members of the forces of the Commonwealth who lost their lives in the two world wars. More than one million graves are maintained in over 23,000 burial grounds across 154 countries. Over three-quarters of a million men and women who have no known grave or who were cremated are commemorated by name on memorials built by the commission.
The funds of the commission are derived from the six participating governments: the UK, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and India.
President, HRH the Duke of Kent, KG, GCMG, GCVO, ADC
Chair, Secretary of State for Defence
Vice-Chair, Lt.-Gen. Sir William Rollo, KCB, CBE
Members, High Commissioners in London for Australia, Canada, India, New Zealand and South Africa; Rt. Hon. Philip Dunne, MP; Vice-Adm. Peter Hudson, CB, CBE; Diana Johnson, MP; Dame Judith Mayhew Jonas, DBE; Hon. Ros Kelly; Vasuki Shastry; Air Marshal David Walker, CB, CBE, AFC
Director-General, Victoria Wallace