Site Search

text size
Sources & Contributors
Bloomsbury Publishing Plc
50 Bedford Square, London, WC1B 3DP, UK
BLOOMSBURY, BLOOMSBURY YEARBOOKS, WHITAKER’S and the Whitaker's logo are trademarks of Bloomsbury Publishing Plc
Print edition published annually since 1868
© Bloomsbury Publishing Plc, 2018
All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or any information storage or retrieval system, without prior permission in writing from the publishers.
Bloomsbury Publishing Plc does not have any control over, or responsibility for, any third-party websites referred to on this website. The publisher regrets any inconvenience caused if addresses have changed or sites have ceased to exist, but can accept no responsibility for any such changes.
Information was compiled with the assistance of: HM Revenue and Customs; The Met Office; Press Association; UK Hydrographic Office; and The World Bank.
Material was reproduced from (in addition to that indicated as the 'source' in the content): Abolitionist and Retentionist Countries © Amnesty International 2018 (W; CIA World Factbook 2018; Corruption Perceptions Index 2017 © Transparency International licensed under CC BY-ND 4.0 DE (W; Human Development Indicators published by the UN Development Programme and UN Statistics published by UN data; World Press Freedom Score 2018 © Reporters Without Borders; Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) 2017; World Development Indicators 2017 published by The World Bank; World Economic Outlook Database 2017 © International Monetary Fund; UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) 2018 (W; Crown copyright material is reproduced with the permission of the Controller of Her Majesty’s Stationery Office.
Government cabinet lists were sourced from People in Power © Cambridge International Reference on Current Affairs Ltd (W People in Power provides a constantly updated service at
Executive Editor: Ruth Northey
Project Editor: James Robinson
Editorial Assistants: Alexandru Ciobanu; Kayla McCrary; Kat Taylor
Head of Yearbooks: Katy McAdam
CONTRIBUTORS (where not listed)
Sheridan Williams, Graham Relf (Astronomy); Adam McKie (Countries of the World); Anthea Lipsett, Caroline Macready (Education); Graham Bartram (Flags); Clive Longhurst (Insurance); Amy Carter, Richard McMeeken, Chris Priestley (Legal Notes); Sarah Perkins (Taxation); and Sean Clarke (Weather)
Terrestrial Magnetism data supplied by Dr Susan Macmillan of the British Geological Survey
Night Sky data supplied by John Flannery of the Irish Astronomical Society